Workshop Weekend

I spent the last two days glued to my computer for a seminar hosted by CreativeLive. The teacher was Doug Landreth, and the subject was ‘Beyond Photography.’ Everything was new to me so the weekend was quite mind-bending. I learned so many great things! Besides all the new ways to use PhotoShop (Elements for me), I learned how to do a few things I knew could be done, I just hadn’t figured out how. Yay!

Mr. Landreth kept talking about the idea is that the art is talking to the artist. A few times he would talk about how a picture would speak to him, but he didn’t know what to say back, so the image would sit in his folder for a while until he figured it out. Two favorite quotes along this line are

“The image will tell you if you’re doing _________ correctly.”

“How do you know when you have a masterpiece? Look for clues, you will know you are done when there is nothing found to be fixed. You are a detective so listen deeply (to the image). Look to uncover the core emotional appeal it speaks to you. This is the CSI of an image.”

Time and time again, I remembered a quote from a book I am reading for the Creative Worship group at church.

The artist is a servant who is willing to be a birth-giver.
Obedience is an unpopular word nowadays, but the artist must be obedient to the work, whether is be a symphony, a painting, or a story for a small child. I believe that each work of art … comes to the artist and says, “Here I am. Enflesh me. Give birth to me.” And either the artist says, “My soul doeth magnify the Lord,” and willingly becomes the bearer of the work, or refuses.

Walking on Water
Madeleine L’Engle

(end tangent!)

More favorite quotes from the weekend are

“Well, that’s for another workshop. We could be here all next week, too!”

“The moral of the story is this: Push every button on your keyboard because some engineer has thought is should be used.”

Below are some of the images I created using (some of) the things I learned on Day One for the homework assignment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And…this will probably be one of the most wordy posts I will ever write. Although, most of the words are not mine!!!

Leave a Reply

